Kaminia

According to tradition, the settlement was founded on the Vroskopos coastline, where Byzantine cemeteries have been discovered. The existence of kilns, in which clay pots were made or metal was melted, gave the village its name. Excavations began in the 1920s and 1930s, revealing the prehistoric city of Poliochni. There are a number of noteworthy attractions in the Kaminia area. The carved Pelasgian graves, the “Column of the Furnaces,” as well as the Holy Church of the Assumption completed in 1852, the Old Fountain with the built-in Turkish inscription, the Statue of the historian Argyrios Moshidis, and the cobbled plaza are all worth seeing.

Many historic chapels may be found in Kaminia: Ag. Alexandros Sokastrou (1930), Ag. Alexandros Angona (1911), Ag. Alexandros Merpia (before 1900), Ag. Varvara (before 1917), Ag. Vlasis (before 1900), Ag. Giorgios Vroskopou, Ag. Giorgios Limaniou (1882), Ag. Giannis Mesarahis (1873), Ag. Giannis Kaminiotis (1881), Ag. Dimitrios (1884), Agios Nikolaos (1861), and Kato Panagia (1899).

Xespasmata, Molos, and Kokkinovrahos / Ag. Triada are some of the area’s most stunning beaches.

Photos