The settlement was initially located in Ai-Giannis, northwest of Portianos, at the foot of Ai-Lias hill, where the remnants of homes can still be seen. For unknown reasons (one typical cause for relocation was severe epidemics), the settlement was relocated to near the small salt lake that runs on from the bay of Moudros, which is now a wetland.
The village church, Agios Ioannou Prodromou, was built in 1862 in the basilica style and features a beautifully carved iconostasis. Palio Pedino (Old Pedino)has remained untouched, with its picturesque cobblestone streets, a cobblestone square, and stone homes with their sculpted decorative elements .
The most notable mediaeval relic in the area, Alexopyrgos or Alexiou Pyrgos, is found near Palio Pedino and was once part of the Mount Athos Pantokratoros monastery.
Ο παρών ιστότοπος υλοποιήθηκε με τη συγχρηματοδότηση της Ελλάδας και της Ευρωπαϊκής Ένωσης